ISO 13053-2011 quantitative methods in process improvement-Six Sigma

matallic word iso with the O like a target plus an green arrow hitting the center, white background

O ISO entity has posted from the 2011 standard-ISO-13053 2011 quantitative methods in process improvement – Six Sigma (1).

The Six Sigma was originally developed by Motorola in 1986 to improve production processes aimed at 99.99966% of products without defects (i.e., 3.4 errors per million opportunities). Today, the methodology is applied in many spheres of activity of small and medium-sized and large companies for all types of processes and services aiming at:

• improving processes and decision-making based on statistical

• measuring the effectiveness of enterprises

• preparing for uncertainty

• the combination of high returns and benefits in the short, medium and long term

• removal of fat, defects and errors.

"The Six Sigma can be used for effective treatment of severe chronic business issues," says Dr. Michel Boulanger, President of the JISC and Vice Chairman of the Subcommittee that developed the standard, "organizations can deploy Six Sigma projects to increase customer satisfaction and to become more competitive. "

"Despite the fact that the Six Sigma is no long enough, best practices in combination with an ISO standard helps to solidify and consolidate the methodology.  The institution is respected and ISO recognized worldwide, and therefore provides an additional level of confidence. In addition, the publication of Six Sigma methodology in an ISO standard will enhance the international adoption of the methodology in a coherent form, reducing fragmentation, and will provide users with a harmonization of best practices, "concluded Dr. Boulanger.

The Six Sigma projects follow a defined series of steps with quantitative and economic objectives (cost reduction and/or increase profits), and rely on statistical tools for tackling uncertainty. The implementation involves creating an infrastructure in every organization with specific roles and responsibilities (e.g. black or green belt).

The new standard ISO 13053:2011, quantitative methods in process improvement-Six Sigma, deals exclusively with the application of Six Sigma to improve existing procedures and published in the following two parts:

• Part 1: DMAIC Methodology-describes the five phases of the DMAIC (Define, Measure, Analyse, Improve & Control), best practices, including roles, required experience and staff training in order to participate in such projects.

• Part 2: tools and techniques-describes the tools and techniques that will be used in every stage of the DMAIC approach.

The ISO 13053 can be applied to all sectors and organizations.

The ISO 13053 part 1 and Part 2 were prepared by the Technical Committee ISO/TC 69,

Applications of statistical methods, Subcommittee SC 7, Application of statistical and related techniques for the implementation of Six Sigma.

You can order them from here


(1) The Six Sigma is a trademark of Motorola, Inc.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *